By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Did SOny just prove Wii U RAM is better than PS4 RAM? Video inside

TheJimbo1234 said:

So then that would imply the eRAM is slower than what is suggested as the other componets are very slow compared to the HYPOTHETICAL eRAM Sony were talking about

eDRAM is built onto the GPU die... so the common sense is that clock of eDRAM is based in the clock of the GPU.

Wii U: 450Mhz
PS4: 800Mhz

Just that already hint for a eDRAM close to twice fast in PS4 than Wii U... it's not a proof but just a hint after all because we need to know the ratio (eDRAM clock to GPU clock) and the internal bus width with GPU and ROPs.

Around the Network
Locknuts said:
I'm not that tech savvy, but wouldn't developer's experience dealing with the EDRAM in the Xbox360 help somewhat in developing for the Wii U? I understand that they still have different architectures, but surely the programming of code for use between the DDR3 and the EDRAM involves a similar process between the two consoles.

edram has been use in PS2 , GC Wii , Wii U so his comparison is more to do with the fact that problems with memory addressing using unified ram for both cpu and gpu have been dealt with so now unified GDDR 5 ram  is a viable alternative and not having to optimize to take advantage  EDRAM simplifies matters .

Research shows Video games  help make you smarter, so why am I an idiot

ASStronaut said:
Who really gives a shit about all these daft, meaningless specs?
It's about the games.

But specs are the bullets in this fanboy war, cou can't fire shots if you are out of bullets.

Ongoing bet with think-man: He wins if MH4 releases in any shape or form on PSV in 2013, I win if it doesn't.

What the thread should have been titled is "did Sony just explain why Wii U's RAM isn't too slow", but no, it had to be framed as a console war pissing contest. *Sigh*

ListerOfSmeg said: