By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - My video game collection! do you collect? and if so what do you collect?

Michael-5 said:

I have a lot more games then you, but youre gettup is a lot fancier. I wouldn't want large statues, glass cases, and framed posters, but I do like how classy your set up is. Right now all my games are shelved on Ikea shelving, but in the future, when I own a house, I want to have a room in the basement where I have the shelving go directly into the wall.

As for what I collect, I collect games which I like. I've been playing games for over 20 years, and I've pretty much refined my tastes now. There isn't a specific collection, it's just games I like. I usually try to get all the games of my favorite franchises, but a lot of my favorite franchises have hit or miss games, and I don't want to own a bad game from a franchise I like, just because of the IP.

Looking at my collection, it's mostly JRPG's, and a lot of Nintendo/Sony games. I'm pretty big on Nintendo console games pre-Wii, and Nintendo handheld games, and I have to say my PS1/PS2/PSP collection is great. PS3 is pretty small because I switched to 360 primarily this gen, but it will grow when I buy a replacement PS3, and PS4 will dominate.

I have a couple figures too, but nothing big. A Yosgi Bobblehead, Gears of War figurine, but it's mostly just boxed games. I'm most proud of my N64/SNES/GBA/GBC collection, owning a boxed game just feels so much more special then owning a game which came in a DVD case.