By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - COMG! Japan Pre-order Chart Thread - Daily updates!

ShinKroller said:
PowerXXX said:

Yep you are quite fortunate. I too have been thinking of starting to learn japanese only to play some games that will never get localized (and of course because i like the language and the culture). Since you are studying japanese can i ask you a question? If i study the language around 3 hours every day, how fluent will i be in 1 year? Could at least have a good idea of what's going on when i am reading/hearing something? Most people say to me that i am pretty good with foreign languages (i speak 3) but i think that it's a matter of personal studying.

Well, it does depend on the person. I started learning japanese in 2010, but that was just the basics hiragana and katakana. It wasn't until end of 2013 that I started trying to translate proper japanese games. It was only 2014 that I managed to mostly translate a game with kanjis.
I suppose with 1 year, you might be able to reach a somewhat intermediate level of fluency depending on you. 

But with the tools available to us now, it is much more convenient to translate kanji compared to past. In 2013 i was using 2 devices to translate while looking at screenshots of dialogues in vita.

That said, I'm not so good at grammar and the kanjis themselves. I mostly memorise the kanji associated with the vocabulary. But so far it's worked fine for me.

I see. Thanks for answering!

Around the Network
PowerXXX said:

I see. Thanks for answering!

No problem. I generally just lurk around a few threads without saying anything.

Great day for Dragon Quest Builders!!! Finally the hype for the game is starting!!!

Boutros said:
Weekly ranking:

Index Period: January 18 - January 24, 2016, 2016

[PS4] Yakuza pole - 199pt
[PS3] Yakuza pole - 160pt
[3DS] Zelda Muso Hailar All Stars (Japan Version) - 84Pt