By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - How widespread is this? 'No Grades, No Zeroes' Schooling...

I've actually never heard of this system before. I live in New Jersey and when I graduated high school we didn't have this system in place and still don't. It might be a Canada thing, not sure. Anyways it sounds absolutely ridiculous and I'm guessing schools will still have transcripts available for colleges if not, I'm not really sure how colleges would accept you or not.

Around the Network
superchunk said:
Its the over all pussification of western society as a whole. No one thinks people can handle failure anymore, yet they failed to realize that failure is actually what makes you stronger and better later on.

i agree, i sucked at school and my grades were shit. after i was done with high school i realized that i cant still be like this. i worked on my SAT's got into university and did pretty damn good in it. if i hadnt been tought a lesson by my own failure in high school i would have never became a responsible person

Epic unacceptability.

Nothing like that in Colorado as far as I know. My schools have luckily been far from that. Plus my University loves failing people, ya.

That sounds like Canada alright

"Sorry! I don't want to fail you, study a bit eh?"

Around the Network

I went to a Jenaplan school until 12 years old. No grades (nor homework) but the parents do get a detailed evaluation. You plan most of the day yourself and work together with others on tasks. The class room had a big plan board and you got a number of tiles with different tasks to be assigned to time slots. There was also some central teaching, but most of the time you're learning on your own, with the teacher helping out the different groups.