By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - The REAL Problem With Xbox Live (OPINION)

J_Allard said:
The service was never down for 2 weeks, it was up and down for 2 weeks. For many people there was no interruption. Personally I got disconnected a few times playing online and a couple nights it took a few tries to connect to XBL and that was it. For others they could not log on at all. These are things you'd know if you actually used the service. Next time try having some actual experience, it will help you out.

I have used the service, extensively from 2008 to 2010. Mostly Call of Duty MW, MW2, and Halo 3, some Borderlands, some Halo Reach, some Gears of War. Never my own system since I didn't have any money until I graduated but I had a dozen friends with a 360 and played often. I'm an avid gamer and have seen the full evolution of the console, from blades to metro and in between. The new features, how the system operates, and how it handles itself online. While the system operates fast and efficient for online use it is not because of XBL's servers or the subscription plan. It is the system hardware and the software. The servers are a completely seperate issue and I wish the 360 did not restrict so many of its features to its pay service, otherwise I might have ended up with a 360 this gen as a big fan of Halo and most of my friends along with my brother play on 360.

Before the PS3 everyone was nice to me :(

Around the Network

Of course it's software, networking, and engineering. Something MS has tons of experience in from their PC roots and something that will never be easy for Sony to replicate.

Can't say I am surprised to read you have never owned a 360 and the experience you have on Live is what you saw at a friends house LOL. Good day.

I'd just like to add that being forced to pay to play games online is the reason I completely discounted the idea of purchasing an Xbox360.