By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - I'm young and from Canada, how should I invest my money now to insure I'm financially set when I'm older?

I'm 23 and have been pondering now about my retirement, now would be the time to really get things going, I'm a complete noob on the topic hence why I'm looking for some help. Anyway I'm from Canada don't know if that matters but I've been even thinking about making an account and putting a bit of money in it every week but what would be best is there certain accounts that have really high interest for that sole purpose? I went to the bank and asked one of the clerks about this and she really confused the shit out of me.

Another thing to I'll be coming into a lot of property in the country (a ton of land) eventually, so what could be done with that, I was thinking of picking out an expensive tree and planting a whole bunch of  it now and in 40 years chop it all down and sell the wood, I dunno how big of a profit that would make me but it's a thought. I have a bit of money tucked away now and it's just sitting there in one of my savings accounts.

So what should I do to ensure I'm financially set for the future?

Around the Network

Give it to badgenome... he'll keep your money in a super secret hole and because of the pressure in that hole in 30 years time it will turn it into a diamond...

Face the future.. Gamecenter ID: nikkom_nl (oh no he didn't!!) 

NiKKoM said:
Give it to badgenome... he'll keep your money in a super secret hole and because of the pressure in that hole in 30 years time it will turn it into a diamond...

Yep, hatmoza is actually useful for some things.

You could start by opening a tax-free savings account through your bank. You can contribute up to $5000 per year into your TFSA, which you can then use to invest in things like bonds, GICs, mutual funds, etc.  Any income earned on your investments will not be taxed.