By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What games have truly awed you?

I'm talking about games that have really taken your breath away, for one reason or another.

For me, I think the winners would be Uncharted 2 and Just Cause 2. Both of them because of their environments.

In Uncharted 2, places like the train and the ice cave really blew me away. With the train, I'm astounded by all the technology behind it, because even though I'm no expert, I can still tell that a lot of work has gone into making this work, and I have never seen a train section in a game like it before. And the ice cave is truly beautiful and it is atmospheric as hell.

In Just Cause 2, the view distance is staggering, which makes for some fantastic moments when you explore all the game has to offer. And the weather can be absolutely amazing. Viewing a sunrise from up high in that game is incredibly beautiful, and the same for when you're in a thunder storm. Those times make me wish I was there in person, just to experience it.

What about you?

Around the Network

I just got Just Cause 2 acouple days ago and It is much better than I expected and I have to agree with what you said.

So I agree with Just Cause 2 and also I would say Valkyria Chronicles awed me. I'm getting Uncharted 2 soon so I will see how that is, loved the first one.

Saruk said:

I just got Just Cause 2 acouple days ago and It is much better than I expected and I have to agree with what you said.

Yeah, I've played for over 12 hours, and I've barely touched the story missions. I'm just exploring the landscape, fooling around and trying to 100% the areas I get to. I'm loving it!

SotC almost had me in a constant sense of awe.  Riding through a beautiful world on a horse and then seeing what new monstocity I had to deal with.  The flying collosi in particular were breath taking.