By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Windows 7 RC, my impressions so far

Tallgeese101 said:
Some of the speed increases you mention might just be due to a fresh OS install.
I skipped Vista and have to say the overall experience improvement from XP is decent and everything still works fine.

Im not seeing a reason to fork out £100 (£50 for upgrade) per computer.

FYI- I'm comparing this directly to a new install of XP on my HP laptop, still much faster. And I'm an IT Tech, so my 7 year old XP PC was still running just as fast as when I bought it (actually, faster). It runs fast because it's a good OS.

Around the Network
Tallgeese101 said:
Some of the speed increases you mention might just be due to a fresh OS install.
I skipped Vista and have to say the overall experience improvement from XP is decent and everything still works fine.

I don't know, even with tweaks Vista has always been slow on my laptop made for it (and it's a pretty damn good laptop too).

twesterm said:
Tallgeese101 said:

I don't know, even with tweaks Vista has always been slow on my laptop made for it (and it's a pretty damn good laptop too).

Vista was a mess to begin with.

my Core 2 Duo 1.73ghz T5300 1GB DD2 667mhz IGP 950  takes almost 30s to boot on vista, around 20s on 7 and 15-10 on Ubuntu.

but for gaming perfomance i get the same FPS in Wow and lineage 2.

i was going to build new desktop to play games, but it doens't sound like a big improvement in speed, it's better than vista, but that something to be proud of.

I've been running W7 RC on my Acer 5920G laptop since it came out, and I am very very pleased with both the performance, features and UI. Big improvement over Vista in pretty much every area.

My desktop is still on XP, will probably upgrade when W7 final is out.

Timmah! said: