By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Xbox720/PS4-Bypassing Blu-Ray For Holography

mrstickball said:
Hope that the 720 incorporates this in it's drive. I've been saying for a few years that HVD is the way to go for the next-box.

Yes, MS!  PLEASE incorporate this $18,000 drive in the next Xbox!  Who has their money ready?!  LMAO!  The discs are $180 a piece too!  Gaming will NEVER be the same!

Blu-ray launched at around $1000 and it took 3 years to get down to $200.  How long will it be before a $18,000 drive makes it to $125 for a console like it costed Sony at launch?

Sometimes, ok a LOT of times, peoples' hate for a company overrides their common sense.  Geez!

Around the Network

I wonder who's backing this Holographic tech?  I mean it took 3 years to get the cost of a BD drive to what it is now via 80% of the CE industry was backing the technology at the very outset.  Games will hardly get over 200GB next gen.  I say that because 1920x1080p graphics @ 60fps is being achieved within 50GB of space.  However, 720p is the norm.  Multiply that by 2 to get 1920x1080p needed storage numbers WITH 7.1 LPCM audio.

WereKitten said:

- CGI vs in-engine: you missed an important point. In-engine is cheaper as long as it is simpler in effects, models, animations, scope and postprocessing setup. As engines get more complex you can approach the quality of CGI, but you're doing so by putting more and more man hours into setting those in-engine scenes, using real actors for motion capture and developing extra assets and effects.