By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - How much did Killzone 2 development cost?

Squilliam said:
Yeah I was.

Twesterm, any chances you can tell us your thoughts about the game industry seeing as you're an insider with regards to development challenges?

Like what?  Engine stuff?  As a level designer, I don't know a lot but I have worked for two different studios with one licensing an engine and the other building their own.

For studios licensing an engine, there's still a significant cost there.  They don't just pay a small fee and then are done with it.  They have to license the engine and then they have to tailor it to their games specific use which is no small chore.  After that, there are still things to be done and then of course royalty fees once the game is actually released. 

Licensing an engines, I believe, isn't so much a money as it is a time saver and keeps your team size down.  So actually I guess that means it does mean it costs money, but it's more about saving time and people rather than money.

Building your own engine is pretty much the same except minus the licensing/royalty fees and adding the development costs.  I would imagine it's more work and money (in fact I'm sure it is) but you also get the bonus of being super familiar with the engine, the option of licensing it *if* it's good enough (which requires more work and money), and the engine being talored specifically to your own game.

Around the Network

If you're shooting for something technologically impressive, you might use some middleware subcomponents (for physics and AI, perhaps), but your engine, in general, will probably not be.

I would wager that Killzone 2 uses relatively little middleware, and was mostly done in-house, as most 1st party exclusives are likely to be.