By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - What is the western equivalent to Manga/Anime?

I'm an ok artist and I just started thinking, is there a western comicish artsylte like Manga? When I say like manga i don't mean looks like it, I just mean is there a western style of art? Anyone know? Or would I have to make my own and hope it looks good so others start to draw like it lol.

Around the Network

As far as I know (I've done a bit of research on this) the entire Manga style stems from one man: Osamu Tezuka. The fact that he has had such a huge influence on Japanese comics, and basically created the manga as we know it, makes for some interesting effects. Instead of every artist creating his own style, mangaka usually only make small changes to the Tezuka archetypes and style, always keeping in line with the fashion of Manga.

I doubt that there has been any artist in the western world (apart maybe from Walt Disney) who has had such a huge impact on comics. Here you can take your influences from so many sources, while in Japan, the influence always stems from Tezuka. Thus the art-style in japanese comics is more uniform and distinct.

So the answer to your question would be that there is none. Western style is too diverse for any style to be considered the equivelent of manga.

(this post my contain factual errors. If so, please correct me. I'm only fairly certain this is the case)

EDIT: Btw. Osamu Tezuka is the coolest man ever to walk this earth. Yes. Even cooler than Shigeru Miyamoto. You can find a list of his works on Wikipedia. Try keeping your jaw from hitting the keyboard when reading it:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Osamu_Tezuka_manga
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Osamu_Tezuka_anime

This is invisible text!

Killergran said: