By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - What's the POOREST you've ever been?

Not too poor. My account always has a positive balance, but that balance might be like four dollars though. I don't have a job, and I live at home, and my parents pay for my stuff (I'm 20) but I'm a student, so I'm not a total slacker. >_>

We've always had food to eat, and I can never remember any kind of amenities not being on, and always food in the fridge. But my mom has a horrible debt to credit ratio >_>

Around the Network
Hawkeye said:
What do you think causes people to become dirt poor? Is it mostly bad luck (born poor) or is it because of laziness, lack of planning, lack of self-discipline, or lack of intelligence (whether due to laziness or just bad luck of being born kinda slow)?

It's probably a multitude of things. Some people are just unlucky. For instance, when I mentioned I was suddenly in debt for 950 euro I was feeling quite a pinch. Thank god the economy was still riding high, I could count on my parents and got my tax refund. What if we'd been in the current economic times, my parents would be inaccesible for any reason and I would have to wait 12 months for my tax refund? I'd have to loan some money and with interest piling up I'd probably end up bad on the street... especially if my education wasn't all that great to begin with.

Others end up poor due to self-discipline. Drugs for instance can make people poor really fast.

Laziness I've hardly heard ever. I can imagine a guy who just prefers to see it all, travel the world and see where that brings him and that way just look like a hobo. Is he poor? By our standards, yes... by his? I doubt it.

And sometimes, it's a mix of things.

The Doctor will see you now  Promoting Lesbianism -->

The Ghost of RubangB said: