By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Why games fail at storytelling

I cried during MGS4 to, but at how bad the story was and that reviewers bought into it again.

Around the Network
CAL4M1TY said:
 I think it's because Game developers aren't movie directors. People don't give Camera work, Lighting, Character Positioning etc enough credit.

Hell, MGS4 is better directed and edited than many, and i mean many five stars movies out there. The way they used film camera tehniques like shallow depth of field, shaky camera, cheesy shots (missed zooms) and generally the direction of each scene, not to mention the exquisite Mo Capped animations and coregraphy, is absolutely mind blowing. MGS3 was equally mind blowing back then, and it still is, but 4 is pretty much as professionally made as a "movie" can be.

I'm a videographer myself, i have a pretty decent background in filming and editing  and i'm always watching MGS4's cutscenes with a big smile of satisfaction on my face, it's that good.

"You have the right to the remains of a silent attorney"

Good article and I agree with his examples. Valve have always been good at using actual game mechanices and total immersion to tell a story without suddenly making you watch a movie.

On consoles the best story games I've played are ICO and SOTC - which have minimal, well done cutscenes then use very similar techniques to Valve to let you experience the story as you play, and gain a sense of mood and purpose as you do so.

Silent Hill games are also pretty good at this, especially 2 & 4 (yes 4 was a bit of a let down as a silent hill game, but its story and method where as good as 2 IMO).

I also agree with others that this defines a difference between many games/successes on each console at the moment.