By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - EGM boycott: no Metal Gear Solid 4 review

I have a free subscription to EGM right now but when that is over, I will be giving them my money to reward them for showing a little integrity in an industry full of whores.

Go EGM.

Or check out my new webcomic: http://selfcentent.com/

Around the Network
Torillian said:
Is there anything that proves what exact reason the EGM staff is delaying their review?

As has been said, there is a long list of things Konami doesn't want people to say, and EGM could just as easily be delaying the review so they have more freedom in writing things that could be considered spoilers. Or perhaps they want to mention the cutscenes and install, but it still won't affect the score.

I get the feeling that some here don't think the game deserves the scores it has gotten, and they're looking to EGM now for some kind of divine retribution, and you may be disappointed.

Or it could be that people find it a problem that a company would insist that reviewers don't mention something that most people would find as negative flaw of the game.

If reviewers can start telling review magazines that they can't review flaws in the game... what's the point of reviews?

It's got nothing to do with the score.  I'm sure the scores would silently reflect those flaws anwyay... however the lack of information to the public... is just distrubing. 

BengaBenga said:
Wow, I'm amazed that there are even people that defend Konami here.

What happened to freedom of press? What happened to expecting an unbiased review from reviewers?

If Konami fears bad reviews, they should not send review copies, but if they do I think it's absolutely unacceptable to set demands for the review.

Everyone is right here.