By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Never, and im upset if i see it

Around the Network

No, never, cannot stand it. I volunteered several times to pick up roadside litter and it is ridiculous how much accumulates in areas after only a month.

kopstudent89 said:
I'm an environmental engineer and I litter. Consistently. This is what I tell myself:

- If I litter on concrete, I'm not harming the environment (Concrete is litter in some ways)

- It doesn't do as much damage as oil spills, landfills, dumping waste in the ocean all of which are far worse and are ignored for some reason.

It doesn´t do as much damage as nuclear bombs, but that isn´t an excuse.

If you litter on concrete, there is a chance that it will be carried by the wind etc. and will end up in the oceans or in a nice untouched forest or somewhere.

Dumping waste on ocean, oil splill and all that isn´t ignored and you should know that. And if something is ignored or not taken seriously enough, then don´t be fine with it. Don´t just accept things as they are.

Demand change, be part of the change.

Very rarely I will throw a napkin I blew my nose on out the window if I don't happen to have a plastic bag in my car. I never toss them in the city nor in front of anyone's house.

I'll do the same with banana peels, apple cores, ect (although nearly every time in those cases), otherwise they will rot in my car. Again never in front of peoples homes or in town and only if it is something that will biodegrade in under a month.

Cigarette butts go in my pocket until they can be thrown away. I empty the plastic bag normally in my car when I gas up and dump my ashtray at that time. Cans and bottles go home to be recycled.

The only exception I can think of to the above is if I try to toss something in the bin, miss and the damn wind carries it off faster than I can chase it down.

smroadkill15 said:
No. I'm the friend that will give you shit for littering if I see it.