By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Masters Degree

Anyone here have a masters degree? How difficult is it to obtain? I have 1.5 years left of my Bachelors in Information Technology. Army would pay for me to get my Masters, but I was wondering if it is even worth it and what it is like. 

fgsduilfgasuklwgefidslzfgb4yiogwefhawi4fbielat5gy240bh3e

Around the Network
roadkillers said:

Anyone here have a masters degree? How difficult is it to obtain? I have 1.5 years left of my Bachelors in Information Technology. Army would pay for me to get my Masters, but I was wondering if it is even worth it and what it is like. 

That really depends on what you want to do.  If the job you want requires a Master's degree, go get one.  If not, then don't.

It also depends on what program you're in.  For me, I got a master's in education which was a 45 credit program (since my undergrad was not in education).  It wasn't all that hard, but that could be different depending on what school you go to.  Took about two years.  If I was a full time student, I imagine I could have done it in a year to a year and a half.

Honestly, this isn't the best place to ask.  You're way better off finding a forum or reddit or whatever in the field you're studying and ask there. I don't think many people here have a master's, and if they do, it's unlikely to be relevant to your experience.

If you don't have trouble to get a Bachelor you won't have trouble getting a master's. Though you should consider if it's actually worth it. Depending on your field, 2 years of work practice is sometimes more valuable than a degree that's slightly higher than what you already got.

edit: I just realized that you said IT. In that case the master is absolutely not worth the time. Work experience in IT counts for a lot more than a frankly, worthless degree. 2 years in master will actually slow down your progress, as did your bachelor.