By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Xbox Exec Responds To Claims That Microsoft Has Too Few Exclusives In 2017

darkenergy said:

Do any of you guys realize that Shannon Loftis is a woman? The only person who notice this was Hudsoniscool, Jeez it's as if people can't think straight when all they care about is trying to bash MS.

Anyway I believe this year could've been better but it is for what it is.

Yes I had when I read the OP. But since all were saying "He" and I'm not an expert on names/gender I assumed the OP was wrong and didn't bothered since the gender is irrelevant in this discussion.

torok said:
AlfredoTurkey said:
Exclusives aren't as important as they use to be because (outside of Nintendo) the highest selling games are third party titles.

I would say that they are important even for Nintendo. Since they lost the 3rd party support that fuelled the NES and SNES, they had a lot of rough generations. Their road has been more bumpy than for Sony and MS. When Sony and MS screw up they still sell some respectable numbers, while it seems like Nintendo's screw ups cost them much more. Thirdy parties are really the blood of the industry.

I think exclusives matter to just influence you a bit. A X1 and a PS4 are quite similar consoles and the price is almost the same. In that situation, you will probably think "well, there are more games on PS4 that I can't play on the X1". Of course, a X1 priced lower would get a boost, but anyway it means that in a situation where price is simlar Sony would win by having exclusives.

Yep, exclusives and 3rd parties are important to the 3 companies to different degrees and their importance is also affected by other factors.

duduspace11 "Well, since we are estimating costs, Pokemon Red/Blue did cost Nintendo about $50m to make back in 1996"

http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/post.php?id=8808363