By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Tech guys: How does Switch's CPU compare to Cell/Xenon/Espresso??

Forgetting PS4/Xbone and GPU comparisons for a sec, how does the Switch's quad-core ARM Cortex A57 CPU stack up in actual real world, in-game performance versus the CPUs used in Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii U?

Around the Network

above x360, under ps3.
ps3 cpu is still a beast,architecture aside is still above ps4's cpu.

“On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer.” - Satoru Iwata

There's no real way to directly compare the Switch CPU with the last-gen consoles, because they use completely different architectures.

However if you're going to try, last-gen CPUs ranked like this PS3 > Xbox 360 > Wii U.

The Wii U's CPU was much weaker than the PS3 and 360, what made it competitive was having a newer architecture and having OoOE, but even then it was still weaker. The Wii U had a 3-core 1.24 GHZ processor, Xbox 360 has a 3-Core / 6 thread 3.2 GHz processor, and PS3 had the Cell which was a completely unique setup best explained as a PPE (aka 1-Core) / 8 SPE (aka 8 super threads) 3.2GHz processor (however, 1 SPE was disabled and another for OS).

The Switch is using a mobile CPU, 4-core ARM Cortex A57 at 1.02 GHz with OoOE. Core for core it should be be in a similar ballpark as the Wii U's Espresso CPU obviously with an additional core to use. It also has more current architecture which helps it even more.

If I were to guess I would say the rankings are like this.

PS3 > Xbox 360 = Switch > Wii U

There are more things we need to know like the Instruction set for all 4, channels, memory bus, and more, but based on what we do know that's my hypothesis.

It is really hard to compare real-world performance for CPU's with such drastically different architectures without benchmarks (and even with benchmarks it is difficult.)