By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Digital Foundry: Nintendo Switch CPU and GPU clock speeds revealed

Boberkun said:
Splendid news. I wish Switch to fail so badly. Can't wait for January's disaster.

Brutal. 

Around the Network
Random_Matt said:

They cannot afford to give developers a system that may throttle, as DF suggested, it was created with worse case scenarios in mind. I don't think gamers would appreciate playing a game that starts buttery smooth, and an hour later the chip starts melting and throttles accordinaly, the frames would dip.

Yeah, I'm no expert at all but I can't see a SoC running at 50% of CPU and less than 80% of GPU (docked) and still throttle. If it's true then I believe that nVidia doesn't really know how to build a SoC.

So basically it's a portable Wii U. Which is fine for a portable, but really I think Nintendo's hardware division has run out of steam. This is the big idea that they took years to prep and cut off the Wii U's lifespan for?

I mean it's kinda sad what their hardware division has become. It really went to crap after Yamauchi stepped down.

I will still get one for Nintendo games, but I doubt any console gamer aside from maybe Wii U owners will be using this as their primary console. And PS4/XB1 will both be $250 standard next year (probably $199 or less around holiday time factoring in deals) so the whole "it's cheap thing" is going to be similar to the GameCube where it was cheap .... but PS2/XBox were only like $50 more so it made no big difference to consumers.

Boberkun said:
Splendid news. I wish Switch to fail so badly. Can't wait for January's disaster.

Mowco said:
Oh my god no... PLEASE NO!

It's WEAKER than an Tegra X1??? and in Handheld Mode the GPU only runs at 40% speed???

No wonder Zelda's frame rate looked dodgy undocked. This is awful news, please tell me it's not true.

What are you referring to here?

Around the Network