By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - US Gov't investigating PS3's Blu-ray

ssj12 said:
NeoRatt said:
These kinds of patent suits are happening all the time. Nothing to be alarmed about. But, I think Sony would be in a lot of trouble if Antitrust did an investigation as it is now a monopoly for HD Movie distribution.

no they aren't

the entire BDA owns Blu-ray

Sony owns the key patents for the technology and licenses them.  Is it fair that Sony can sell a gaming console and blu-ray player for cheaper than companies typically sell just a blu-ray player?  And PS3 was sold at a loss to push blu-ray initially.  Can that be considered a fair business practice?  I'm no lawyer but I have seen a lot stupider stuff end up succeeding the US justice system.

Around the Network
NeoRatt said:
ssj12 said:
NeoRatt said:
These kinds of patent suits are happening all the time. Nothing to be alarmed about. But, I think Sony would be in a lot of trouble if Antitrust did an investigation as it is now a monopoly for HD Movie distribution.

no they aren't

Sony owns the key patents for the technology and licenses them.  Is it fair that Sony can sell a gaming console and blu-ray player for cheaper than companies typically sell just a blu-ray player?  And PS3 was sold at a loss to push blu-ray initially.  Can that be considered a fair business practice?  I'm no lawyer but I have seen a lot stupider stuff end up succeeding the US justice system.

is that why Samsung has the cheapest Blu-ray Player on the market? 

PC gaming is better than console gaming. Always.     We are Anonymous, We are Legion    Kick-ass interview   Great Flash Series Here    Anime Ratings     Make and Play Please
Amazing discussion about being wrong
Official VGChartz Folding@Home Team #109453

okr said:

Simple messages from some of you understood: