By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - My first Shin Megami Tensei game - Tips for a beginner?

dam4rus said:
My tip is to walk with your 3DS more often, if you don't already have maximum play coins. When you die you have an option to spend your play coins, instead of macca. Trust me, you will NEVER have enough macca in this game unless you grind for relics.

As already stated, the beggining can be a bit overwhelming for beginners. I'm a veteran SMT player, yet the Naga/Minotaur/Medusa boss killed me a lot of times. After that you will have more freedom to grind/do quests, etc and the game becomes easier until the end, when the difficulty comes back again. Also don't forget: you unlock easy mode by dying a few times (3 times, if i remember correctly). So, if you want an easier difficulty don't load the game back, just deal with it that you lose some macca/play coin. I hope you enjoy this game, i think it's a great game even though it's not the best SMT game out there.

I've definitely unlocked easy mode already lol though I'm not going to lower the difficulty. It feels fair enough so far, though I haven't gone against any of the enemies you mentioned yet. I've just saved Navarre, so I'm a bit early off. I actually haven't died since I unlocked that mode, so at least I'm learning!

Around the Network

I'll be reading these tips as well, because I too am new at the series and have only barely begun the beginning of the game.

NNID: garretslarrity

Steam: garretslarrity

noname2200 said:
leedlelee said:
My tip would be to not immediately dismiss the game as rubbish because it doesn't come natural to you...
It axes me the number of complaints I see because people feel they shouldn't have to grind or feel challenged...

Feeling challenged is great, but I'd happily argue that it's bad design to require "grinding." Perhaps you meant something else?