By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - A major part of the digital/physical debate that people forget

Keegs79 said:
VanceIX said:

Do your kids play videogames? What would you do if they wanted to play some of the same games as you? Would you not let them touch the discs or take them to their friends' houses, in fear that they may break or scratch them?

I don't have any children, since I'm just a lowly university student currently. However, I remember that when my brother and I were young, we would play tons of games, taking them to our friends' houses and such. Sometimes a disc would get a bit scravhed. Not unplayable, but scrateched. It happens, no matter how responsible you try to be.

My almost 3 and just turned 5 years old? No. Of course they don't play video games. First I would teach them (at a older age) to be responsible if they borrow them or anything of mine. It is important to be a good parent. Second I wouldn't let them borrow them anyway because I wouldn't allow that regardless....well maybe under some circumstances. Lastly, blu-ray discs are very resistant to scratches. You need to beat them up pretty bad to make them unplayable.  They can take a heavier beating than a standard dvd or music cd.

You can teach them to be reponsible, sure. But there are plenty of children who start playing videogames before they turn 10, and you can't be there with them to make sure they treat everything properly.

And bluray discs are actually not scratch resistant, it's the special coating that publishers put on the disc that is. And even that can still be easily scratched, because things happen. 

You're Gonna Carry That Weight.

Xbox One - PS4 - Wii U - PC

Around the Network
VanceIX said:
Keegs79 said: