By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - This "delays are good for games" needs to stop

So who's fault is it?

the publisher's 29 21.17%

the developer's 33 24.09%

the consumer's 6 4.38%

your mom's 68 49.64%

Total:136

Id rather it was playable than broken though. Being a programmer myself I can see how things go over schedule I'm already 4 weeks over deadline on my latest project.

Around the Network
DerNebel said:
So you're saying that every delayed game could be released in the same state even without the delay?

Not necessarily. If the delay wasn't avoidable then it's a clear failure of whoever decided to give a release date early. But companies will still claim it's just to make the game "even better" and people will gobble it up.

If you demand respect or gratitude for your volunteer work, you're doing volunteering wrong.

Duke nukem certainly proved this

Xenostar said:

This is obviously sometimes true. but there are many games that were released that could of done with more time in development, Anything by Bethesda for a start. So Devs can release Buggy messes if they want, but they shouldnt, they should take more time to release something thats at least playable especailly if they want to build a franchise.

Bu yeah even in a case where delaying a game makes it better, there was still a problem in the product management. What Pubs and Devs need to do is stop announcing release dates unless there pretty damn certain.

Believe me when I say that no feasible amount of time will make open world games run better. It's not feasible for a company to develop as long as possible just to remove all the bugs. They have to release at a stage before that. And they're willingly doing so. They know the game is full of bugs but the numbers say that the sales will outweigh the negative feedback. And there is always patches.