By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Why do people make such a big deal about backwards compatibility?

I honestly don't understand why people refuse to buy consoles without backwards compatibilty. Is that hard to just keep your old console? Even if you don't own a last gen system they're very cheap now. Adding BC would do nothing but drive up the costs of the machine and make it an architectural nightmare. 

Sigs are dumb. And so are you!

Around the Network

If PS4 and Xbox One had backwards compatibility, maybe the systems wouldn't be nothing but later released last gen ports.

It's convenient.

Convenience. My TV only has a certain amount of ports, and as a college student I can't take all my consoles with me to the dorm.

BC isn't a deal-breaker, but it certainly is something nice to have.

You're Gonna Carry That Weight.

Xbox One - PS4 - Wii U - PC

because is better

Click HERE and be happy 

Around the Network

Cause we have a gf/wife who doesn't like it how multiple consoles clutters up the TV space..

*high five for all who have been there*

Face the future.. Gamecenter ID: nikkom_nl (oh no he didn't!!) 

I can get the convenience aspect. Having one machine playing everything instead of one for each generation does seem practical. But people do exaggerate on it. I've seen someone stating they would only consider a PS4 if it ran PS1, PS2 and PS3 games, so he could catch up with previous generation. Why not buy a PS2 in this case...? Anyway.

And considering the bizarre architecture of the PS3, anyone expecting its games on the PS4 was delusional. And Sony's situation probably doesn't allow them to include PS2 parts on every single PS4. Maybe software emulation is possible though, who knows.