By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Politics Discussion - the right to bear arms and how it can be used to defend from big government

the2real4mafol said:
sc94597 said:
the2real4mafol said:
 Don't the seemingly limitless power of the FBI, CIA, NSA etc. bother you people? and yet that is never mentioned by libertarians ever

Are you serious? Check out ronpaulforums.com, mises,org, reason.com, etc, etc and all you see are countless articles on Edward Snowden, how federal law enforcement agencies are illegitimite, and how the CIA instigates wars. This is not only an issue libertarians address, but it's one of the biggest unifying issues of libertarians, from anarchists, to minarchists, to consitutionalists. It's riduclous to say that libertarians never mention these things, when we are the only ones who do. What happen to the progressives who were historically against such things? Oh they don't exist anymore. 

I'm not an expert on it but from outside the US we hear Americans moan about their guns being taken away but anything to do with the NSA etc. is not seemingly reported on unless it's RT or someone like that. I guess that is deliberate.

And yeah I did generalise abit but I've not had a reason to look into it deeply.

Refreshing to see such thoughts (i hate authoritarianism), although we could never agree on economic matters it's still cool. I would be libertarian if it weren't for all the flaws of capitalism

Maybe, in your country progressives defend it but I sure don't and i'm probably considered progressive by American standards. I admit not all progress is or can be good.   

Also, i find it abit depressing that the people who defend the ideals your country was founded on have to fight to protect it. 

In the actual US it's quite different... you hear people complain about the NSA and things like that on TV like... every single day.   

You find lots of new disturbing stuff, tons of people upset.