By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Will we ever see a standard game format?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moore%27s_law

For thoose who don't know moore's law

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."

Your theories are the worst kind of popular tripe, your methods are sloppy, and your conclusions are highly questionable! You are a poor scientist. Especially if you think the moon landing was faked.

ioi + 1
Around the Network

We'll never have a standardized format for the reason that every company wants to make money off the hardware, and each company wants something different from said hardware :/ Nintendo wanted to keep the cost of the console down, Sony wants to push for Blu-ray, those two don't seem to mix xD

From 0 to KICKASS in .stupid seconds.

Moore's Law does eventually run out, some think around 2020 when we get down to using atoms (not that progress will stop just slow down). there is a limit to how small we can go and when we get there the competitive edge will start to disapear. And with no fear of the hardware expiring so quick software will become the important difference.

But as that article points out, this is assuming there's no advancement beyond integrated circuit technology before that happens. There are a number of technologies in the works that could get us over the hump and well beyond.

superchunk said:
nope. Nintendo will never sign off on their IP. It is way too valuable.

HAHA you put IP singular! thats cause they only have one, Mario.

@Borkachev Which technologies are you reffering to?

Your theories are the worst kind of popular tripe, your methods are sloppy, and your conclusions are highly questionable! You are a poor scientist. Especially if you think the moon landing was faked.

ioi + 1
Around the Network