By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Dear VG Chartz community...

I was wondering if you could all do me a favour?
I'm an A2 English Language student currently working on my personal investigation, basically my coursework. I have chosen to investigate language use on the internet, specifically, forums. Since VG Chartz has such a large, varied and fairly colourful community (yes, I've been snooping around for a while now, meant to become a regular poster but have been somewhat busy of late) I'd like to ask for some volunteers to help me with my study. What you'll need to do, is PM me some details, or if you prefer, post here expressing interest and I'll PM you my e-mail address, so you can get in touch that way. The details I'll need are your age, gender, location (town/city etc, country), occupation and income (rough estimate of how much you make per year will do). I'll also need to know in which threads you have posted most often and most recently.
The reason behind all of this, is that I want to look at how demographics affect language use on the internet. I'm not making any assumptions, predictions or hypotheses, I just need a decent sized and varied sample to explore the relationship between such details and the language use of a user.
If you have any questions, post here or PM, and I'll try and answer them through out the day.
Thanks!

EDIT: I also plan on looking into relationships between users, and the idea of a community on forums, so any help there would be appreciated greatly. I hope to use this forum to complete my research, so I hope that's fine with all of you?

Around the Network

I make ~$40,000AUD/year. Check my profile for the rest. Wow, that was easy. This feels like one of those post count threads. PM me if you need more.

£18.000 a year, male, Spanish, London

<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/YUK04.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0"