By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Could Nintendo add a capacitive touch screen in a WiiU redesign?

Capacitive or no?

Give me a more responsive one! 33 21.85%

It's fine the way it is ... 118 78.15%

Total:151
Mmmfishtacos said:
I'm no artist. But I just did this in paint park using the vita and one of those 10 dollar pens from walmart. I bet someone with better skills could do a lot better than me. But i really don't see where some of you claim that resistive touch screen is better. I have both a vita and a Wii U and i far prefer the vita's screen to the Wii U. The game pad screen is not as responsive as the vita.

You not being an artist is exactly why it doesn't matter as much, the precision makes a big difference for people who are better at it, you will never catch me doing any real art on capacitive screens other than really quick sketchs because it requires too much touch up due to crappy line sensitivity even with a stylus. It's the same for audio equipment, unless you are an audiophile, you can't even hear the difference after a certain level compared to trained ears.

PS: and there are different requirements for a gaming headset vs audiophile equipment too, they are better at different things, just like resistive touch vs capacitive, it all depends on what you are doing. But the new resistive touch screen tech youtube videos I linked are superior to capacitive in pretty much everyway, it's a shame that Nintendo doesn't adopt newer tech but proven tech.

Around the Network

Sure but why? The current screen works great with a finger and you get the preciseness of a stylus as well. I think the current choice is perfect.

richardhutnik said:
BuckStud said:
platformmaster918 said: