By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Using Context Clues to Predict

I'll admit I'm new to this whole console tracking thing, and I'll admit I have my favorites, but here's where I have my in.

I work for a gaming company. Currently we have 20 PS3's sitting on the shelves (normally we have 4-5 of any system). Corporate ships us 3-4 every 2-3 weeks...Now doing the math, it's not selling that well in my area 

Those key words "in my area", don't seem to apply to just "my area". There're worldwide reports of PS3's just sitting on the shelves, waiting to be sold. 

Here's the comparison, I haven't worked a shift yet where I haven't gotten at least 20 calls with people asking for Wiis. Add that to the 50 who actually come inside the store with the sole purpose of asking for one, and then leaving with their heads hung low when we chuckle and tell them no dice. When we actually do get Wiis, it's in shipment of 3-6, and they're gone within 6 minutes.

It's not that I don't like Sony. I own a PS2, and I love it, I just think that they could've done a better job with their brand new, state-of-the-art system.

Hindsight is 20/20 yes, but if millions upon millions of dollars are on the line, you can't afford to rely on the hindsight. 

Currently playing: Civ 6

Around the Network

If Nintendo could produce Wii's at a faster rate then the Wii would be the number one selling console by August.

Send me a message if you want to be Wii friends.

1 - you dont factor in New kick ass software that will drive NA/Eu hardware sales. (not sure about J releases)

2 - Its called Xmas, PS3 will have no trouble doing over 2 million in Nov/Dec world wide.

then thers is the  possibility of a price cut and MGS4 hiting in 07