By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Japanese Devs Talk NGP

goforgold said:
patapon said:
MaxwellGT2000 said:

Also why did these guys not say anything critical on the system?  Seems like it was just a few questions posed to get positive feedback and nothing else, which is a wasted interview (with so many top devs) if you ask me.

Seriously...

What genuine criticism can these guys really level against the NGP at this stage in the game? (no pun intended)

As a developer, I would be concerned about ease of development, potential for new gameplay possibilities, and ultimately that the system isn't going to be as piracy ridden as the PSP. Looks like ease of development is covered. There has been SO much positive press about this. Sony seems to finally understand and that's a plus. New gameplay possibilities? Back touch pad is looking HOT! Developers must be very interested in that. And it's not like conventional control inputs have disappeared either... Actually, all of them are present from my understanding. Duel analog? Touchscreen? Basic D-pad with shoulder buttons and whatnot? Check. As for piracy? It's probably a good thing the ps3 fell when it did. Sony will be very cautious about their new portable and the events that surrounded the psp.

I don't see what 'criticisms' are even possible right now given our current understand of the NGP. But you seem to disagree... What should these developers be saying exactly?

Maybe people are just angry that the NGP is being received so positively... The plan/hope/dream for many on this site was that the NGP would 1st Be announced, 2nd Offer nothing new,  3rd Be received horribly by gaming press & developers alike, 4th Have an insanely high price tag that FAR exceeds Nintendo's offerings,  5th Receive no games and lastly, 6th NGP funeral procession driven by Apple