By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Best HD TV for under £1000

whatever you choose, consider it to be an investment. Ask yourself "will I be happy with my purchase 5-6 years from now? Will the picture still look really good by then?" You don't want to get something because it was a couple of GBP cheaper, but then its crap after 2 or 3 years.

I'm no expert on HD, so I would recommend what that other guy said, look at reviews and go to av enthusiast forums. Hopefully an enthusiat forum that is devoid of fanboys

Around the Network

Speaking of brands and fanboyism:

For LCD TVs, brand is not much of an issue.

As I previously stated, three panel manufacturers make 90% of all panels, so buying a Sony does not mean you get a "Sony" panel.

If you are not a brand whore, I would recommend you look at the following:

- panel grade / class (this determines the kind of panel defect warranty you get)

- overall features, e.g. color calibration, resolution, built-in scaler (mine has a Faroudja built in), PIP, etc

- Warranty on both the TV itself and the panel. They tend to differ.

If you can get the same same grade / class panel, with the same overall features, and the same warranty, you'd do well with a lesser-name brand, as by paying for a big-name brand you are doing just that - paying for the name.

Keep that in mind: My panel is zero-defect, has good features and a three-year warranty, but since it's not a "brand-whore" model, I bought it for less than 1/2 the price of a comparable "brand-whore" model.

Plasma TVs have had trouble over the years. LCDs have dont a very good job on keeping their quality over the years. (look at a old LCD monitor)

The only reason I say what I say about the Samsung/Sony TVs. Is because they look the best, and they are the best.