By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - VG Charts Gaming Demographics

I am fairly new to this generation of gaming and I would like to know the demographics to see - in general - what type of people like what type of games. 

I've played games like Mario Bros, Mario Kart, Street Fighter 2 when I was younger and liked those games.  (I've never played N64, PS1 and most of PS2 - so take that into account).  However, I find myself liking new types of games now.

The reason I am curious is because as a 31 Year Old Male, I cannot see myself liking games on the list below (not complete) and for the following reasons.  I read quite a lot of reviews and news about games now - so that shows that I follow gaming a little bit.

Super Mario (eg. Super Mario Galaxy) and other platformers - it seems too "kiddy" and something that I won't like.  I know that SMG for example is getting top scores and reviews.  However, I would like to know if my demographic plays this game - or is it more younger people that would find it fun.

Older Games (Old Arcade games in XBLA as examples) - I feel its "old".  For example, I remember playing Contra and Super Contra and having so much fun - but trying out the demos on XBLA - the games seems to be no fun anymore.

RPGs - I've never really played this genre nor had a longing to play it.  I perceive them as taking too much time to play - not that other games don't take time to play.  But that is just my personal feeling

To make an analogy:

Older games are like watching old cartoons  - you have fond memories of them - but when you watch them as an adult - it kinda sucks and is actually quite boring.

Newer Games like Super Mario Galaxy - it's like watching new cartoons - as an adult it still sucks because its a cartoon (like watching Blues Clues or some kids cartoon).