By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - I'm a Killzone 2 fan but I gotta admit , it was a waste of good graphics.

Am I the only person alive that likes both gritty and clean color palettes?

Killzone 2 ftw! Super Mario Galaxy ftw!

Around the Network

You aren't. Personally the argument that a darker limited colour palette is artistically inferior is really a juvenile argument. As always it comes down to ones application of said colour palette and art style.

I mean sin city has an amazing artstyle and it relies largely on high contrast black and white imagery with the odd colour added in for emphasis.

Heres a question to consider. Would killzone 2's graphics fidelity be possible with a brighter and more varied colour palette? Maybe they were limited technically. But thats pure speculation, I'm no games designer.

FaRmLaNd said:
You aren't. Personally the argument that a darker limited colour palette is artistically inferior is really a juvenile argument. As always it comes down to ones application of said colour palette and art style.

I mean sin city has an amazing artstyle and it relies largely on high contrast black and white imagery with the odd colour added in for emphasis.

Heres a question to consider. Would killzone 2's graphics fidelity be possible with a brighter and more varied colour palette? Maybe they were limited technically. But thats pure speculation, I'm no games designer.

I agree but I never said a limited colour palette was artistacally inferior .

"amazing enviroments not neccaserily colourful but interesting at least , from what i've seen and played in the demo Killzone 2 isn' that."

Killzone 2's application of limited colour pallete just isn't anything incredibly interesting , if the final product shows alot more diversity in terms of colour then that's great but that alone wouldn't make it anything special to look at.