By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Sony - The Confusion

rocketpig said:
Shocking. An expensive convergence device that isn't particularly good at its primary function (gaming) isn't succeeding in the marketplace.

How many times do companies need to learn that convergence devices aren't well-accepted by the public before they get the point? It's okay to make a convergence device, but you have to remember a few things:

1. It has to perform its primary function VERY WELL
2. It has to be reasonably priced compared to its non-convergence cousins (or very trendy and hyped, a la iPhone)
3. 90% of consumers won't use the additional features

I've been predicting a Sony crash-and-burn since E3 2006. This shouldn't be surprising anyone.

You mean a general purpose-device like a computer?  Well those haven't been doing well at all...

Around the Network
dallas said:

You mean a general purpose-device like a computer?  Well those haven't been doing well at all...

Um, okay. If you can't see the difference between a computer and a specialized consumer electronic device, I'm not even going to argue with you.

It's a four letter word that starts with a "w", ends with a "k", and has an "o" and "r" in the middle.

Or check out my new webcomic: http://selfcentent.com/

I rather disagree, Sony has a larger team them most would think as they have their teams from every other division to assist with making things for the PS3. Sony's Music division are the ones making the SingStar Store for the PS3 not Sony's WW game studios.

Also Sony has a ton of games that cant be marketed because they are downloadable. B&M stores would drop Sony, Microsoft, and Nintendo in a heart beat if they advertise that after you buy the console you dont have to worry about games because you can download a lot of good games mainly due to B&M stores not being able to sell these games and make money off of them.