By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Why does Wii games look so bad?

@ Soriku )

Wrong , Factor 5 are the people who do Lair for the PS3 , WKS is from Level 5.

Around the Network

@Albionus,

You are way oversimplifying things.  These developers are not complete newbs off the streets..even the rookie teams.  They have all seen a wide variety of hardware and know how to compensate for nuances in the hardware.

Aside from that I am not sure how you could of been contemplating this issue since the launch of the Wii since there would of been a serious lack of information to contemplate...but ok sure.  

The thing most people aren't getting yet is that the Wii has about a 12 month full dev cycle and the PS3/360 has about an 18 month full Dev Cycle.  When you take into account that the majority of veteran teams are working on the PS3/360 projects 6-9 months before launch you have a situation where these veteran teams aren't even going to start working on Wii projects for at most 3 months and as early as a week from now.  And even then it would be another year before the game was released.

The point that most companies started to understand how successful the Wii is being is when they started to shift their resources.  Anything before then is going to continue lest they waste thousands of man hours.  Its not as if the Wii doesn't have good games coming out these holidays but you aren't going to be seeing superb 3rd party games for at least another 4-6 months.  And we are already seeing companies announce some interesting new IPs for the Wii.

Frankly this topic is old, and has been discussed numerous times before, I am not sure why it needs to be addressed again now that it makes even less sense than it did before.

To Each Man, Responsibility