By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - How bad has square enix been for sony this gen

Lurker said:
Square just shot themselves in the foot.

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.

What this means is the Japanese public, after hearing about this, is not going to want to purchase FFXIII, nor will they purchase any of Square's games. This is HUGE. You can laugh all you want, but Square has alienated an entire market with this move.

Square, publicly apologize and cancel FFXIII for 360 or you can kiss your business goodbye.

1 - Never say you're an expert of ANYTHING on a forum

2 - So, by the amount of people in Japan who own XBox 360s, they are all traitors to their country and their culture?

3 - The news on FF 13 coming to the 360 is about 3 months old now. I'm sure all of Japan who is interested has heard about it.

4 - Theoretically, Squaresoft abandoned and screwed over Nintendo first, at the time of the Playstation 1. By your logic, Square should quit making 360 AND Sony games and repent by going back to Nintendo.

Around the Network
badgenome said:
Lurker said:

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.