By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Miyamoto's Mistake and what it'll cost the Wii

celine said:
bardicverse said:
Gamerace said:

I do feel, unfortunately, that ultimately despite it's success Miyamoto won't ever be happy with the end results of Wii Music. I feel it was dear to his heart and he'll be disappointed it wasn't more universally embraced.

To be honest, as a game developer, I hope he IS disappointed with it so he learns a lesson from it. Maybe it will wake in him up from making novelty game ideas and bring him back to making a new, core-focused IP. How badass would it be to see Miyamoto break out the next brand new IP that is tantamount to the legends such as Mario, Donkey Kong and Zelda? And how much would that piss off all the Sony/MS fans?

He is a smart business man. All game designers should be.

true, I agree with you, but before he is a businessman, he is a game designer. There's a reason why Zelda games tend to fluctuate between young link and adult link. This is Miyamato's son, and he hates to see him grow up. Call it midlife crisis if you will, but Link is Miyamoto's kid, his soul. It's time to give link a brother in the Miyamoto clan

Around the Network
Ail said:
noname2200 said:
famousringo said:
pastro243 said:

From what I've played, Wii Music IS actually more accessible than Guitar Hero et. al. I've seen novices on Guitar Hero struggle greatly on Easy mode (I certainly did myself) for hours before the whole thing "clicked." By contrast, none of the instruments in Wii Music are particularly hard to "get"; you'll be strumming along in minutes. So I think with that game, it's Mission Accomplished, as not knowing the mechanics of instruments is no longer an obstacle.

That's kinda pushing it. I know you're trying to make a point but still...