By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Thank you terrible economy!

Sucks.... but hey, my high school was so competitive the year I graduated that even though I would have been valedictorian any of the previous ten years, I graduated 11th in my class...

And half the people in the top ten ahead of me went to the same school in-state and picked off all the local and business scholarships leaving me with a whopping.... 2k in scholarships!

And my family is firmly middle class, and had about enough to help pay for a bit of the upfront tuition costs/dorm expenses, leaving me about 30-40k in student loans when all was said and done. Although thank god that was a number of years ago now... at current tuition rates my loans would have been more like 65k.

I still got off a LOT better on student loans than a lot of people I know.

Around the Network
cdude1034 said:
insomniac17 said:
Well, did your parents sell the stocks? If not, then it technically isn't lost, it's just lost value. You can still get some money back on it if you wait to sell it; you haven't lost any money until you sell. Best of luck with this!

The overall market will not get back its value for years. The individual stocks depending on which ones may recover faster, but then again the odds are the same for them taking longer...

Yes, but you still don't lose anything until you sell. So, unless the company that the stocks are in are is in danger of going under, there's no need to sell; you can at least sell them at less of a loss if you wait.

tehsage said:

As of last night, most of the money my parents saved for me to go to college was lost. T_T; I'm scared now...I really hope I get enough scholarships to pay for it..