By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Any Javascript masters here?

>_>; I'm trying to work with Javascript and I need some help. If anyone here knows it, could you possibly messege me or if you have AIM, contact me at SageErk? Thanks! 

Around the Network

What's the problem?

When I work with web design, I generally use PHP when creating 'include' files that have information that doesn't change depending on the page. For school, I'm recoding my entire school's website because, well, the last web designer though putting tables inside tables was the best way to create a layout for a website. >_>; However, the schools webserver doesn't support PHP and therefore, I'm restricted to using Javascript to accomplish something similar to this. But, I'm not a Javascript expert and I can't figure out why my code isn't working. include.js: function header() { document.writeln("<html>"); document.writeln("<head>"); document.writeln("<title>Hereford High School</title>"); document.writeln("<style type="text/css">"); document.writeln("<!-- @import url("/style.css"); -->"); document.writeln("</head>"); document.writeln("<body>"); document.writeln("Test Header"); } function footer() { document.writeln("Test Footer");

document.writeln("</body>"); document.writeln("</html>"); } index.html:

<script src="/include.js"></script>

<script language="JavaScript">header();</script>

Test

<script language="JavaScript">footer();</script>

You should not be using JS to do the things you are trying to do. Maybe you are trying to do some PHP type things(I have never used PHP).  I am no expert on DOM or JS, (I write back-end applications using Java and C#) but can you utilize the document object without having started the html or head tags?

Use this for your script tags as well - <script type="text/javascript">