By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Alone in the Dark 360 first impressions

I started playing Alone in the dark for 360 today around 8 pm...I stopped playing around 12am. And here I am to give you some feedback on the game...

In the 4 hours I've played it, I can honestly say that the game has earned a full recomendation from me to anyone looking for a good survival horror game that features some incredibly thrilling moments and has some really original gameplay ides.

Things I've liked:

- The game introduces and expands on a lot of ideas other games have established.

-Inventory system has endless posibilities (lighter fluid + bullets = fire bullets...Kickass!)

- Puzzles and static camera angles in situations give me the feel of Resident evil 1,2 and 3...which are some of my favourite games of all time.

-It merges presentation, story and gameplay extremely well.

-Jaw-dropping scenes showing buildings falling apart in manhatan and a car chase scene that has to be seen to be believed.

- Ability to go first person and third person at any time. First person works for combat, 3rd person works for puzzles.

- "Last time in alone in the dark!"...play the game and load a save, you'll know what I mean.

- Some pretty scary moments

- Continuing after dying...you continue right where you left off. No need to worry about checkpoints or saves.

Things I've disliked:

- Hand to hand combat sucks (you fight using the second analog stick and target on enemy using the left trigger)

- Health System...no health bar or anything that idicates how injured you are...you just die when hit too many times.

- Controls feels klunky in 3rd person mode...but first person feels good.