By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - The true PS3 super-computer

Cheebee said:
Why don't they just stick over 9000 PS3s together?

They almost did with warhawk server :

Around the Network

on talented programmers:

let me just say that, my general impression is that top-notch programmers and computer scientists go to companies that pay better than the game programmer. as far as i know, google, microsoft, facebook etc pay much better than any game companies out there.

interest is another thing. i'm not a computer scientist by training, but if i were to choose, there is absolutely no way i would pick something as monotonous and hair-pullingly boring as low-level optimization, even if it pays 20-30% more. all my formally trained computer science friends echo my sentiment.

@Profcrab:

please stop scoring your posts. it was cute for a couple of posts, but now it's just flat-out annoying. in another 5 posts it will become creepy.

the Wii is an epidemic.

Hmm I was curious, does anyone know much about CUDA? I don't have time to work it out, but I think thats where the biggest competition to the Cell is going to come from. It seems Nvidia and IBM have similar goals but vastly different architectures.

A modern RV770 chip does what, 1-1.2Teraflop FP single precision, probably 100gflop+ double vs a PS3 cell that does 250ish single precision... The question, can the Cell architecture in a cluster compete with future GPU designs as they become more general purpose?

Tease.

@prof: so your rating range is between 9.0 and 10.0? Are you a professional game reviewer over at IGN?

Any message from Faxanadu is written in good faith but shall neither be binding nor construed as constituting a commitment by Faxanadu except where provided for in a written agreement signed by an authorized representative of Faxanadu. This message is intended for the use of the forum members only.