By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Wikipedia and VGChartz

As a teacher I have a hard time explaining to students why they shouldn't use wikipedia for reports, even though I use it all the time.

It's a great place to go to get an overview of a topic, to get pointed in the right direction. But then that data should be used to track down the original sources.

Around the Network

What I was updating on Wikipedia was the List of best selling video games section, it requires a video game to sell a minimum of 1 million units, so I looked up all the games on VG Chartz for the PS3 that sold over a million copies and I updated that on to Wikipedia, and someone reverted everything back to what it use to be and he said that VG Chartz is not a reliable source. And I actually saw that there was abunch of other people that use VG Chartz to update some software sales and they were all reverted back to what it use to be?

You can't help but root for the underdog, GO PS3!

End of 08' Sales

Wii:                      39.56

Xbox 360:           24.75

Playstation 3:     20.58

I always find it ironic because in academic circles wikipedia is frowned upon (for a number of reasons, its not worth going into).

The best thing you can do is quote people who quote VGChartz numbers. That's the kind of stuff the Wiki Natzis go for. But I am glad that Wikipedia runs a tight ship.

We had two bags of grass, seventy-five pellets of mescaline, five sheets of high-powered blotter acid, a salt shaker half full of cocaine, a whole galaxy of multi-colored uppers, downers, screamers, laughers…Also a quart of tequila, a quart of rum, a case of beer, a pint of raw ether and two dozen amyls.  The only thing that really worried me was the ether.  There is nothing in the world more helpless and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of an ether binge. –Raoul Duke