By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Is HDMI 2.1 important for console gaming?

My buddy is thinking of upgrading to this TV https://www.sony.ie/electronics/televisions/af8-series

It costs around €2500 and it's pretty high end. 4k oled amongst other features. I was talking to him about HDMI 2.1 and I don't think these sets support hdmi 2.1. I'm not an expert on it but is hdmi 2.1 likely to be important on the ps5 and next gen in general. He games on the ps4 Pro but his next console will be the ps5. Should he hold out a few years for a 2.1 capable TV? 

Around the Network

Not knowing the specs of the PS5, it's still very likely that Sony will support VRR (Variable Refresh Rate) on their next gen console. Afaik the Xbox One X already does that. That would be the main reason so far, to go for HDMI 2.1. 

Intel Core i7 8700K | 32 GB DDR 4 PC 3200 | ROG STRIX Z370-F Gaming | RTX 3090 FE| Crappy Monitor| HTC Vive Pro :3

It will support HDMI 2.0 which means it supports 4K@60fps.

Thats all you will need for next gen. Consoles will never push for more that 60fps in the living room.

Truth be told is that chances are most next gen games will be running at 30FPS in 4k ain t how we have most running at 1080p@30fps this gen.

Intrinsic said:
It will support HDMI 2.0 which means it supports 4K@60fps.

Thats all you will need for next gen. Consoles will never push for more that 60fps in the living room.

Truth be told is that chances are most next gen games will be running at 30FPS in 4k ain t how we have most running at 1080p@30fps this gen.

Or they run with dynamic 35 - 50 fps when stable 60 fps ain't possible on a HDMI2.1 TV with FreeSync 2... which would be much smoother than your suggested 30 fps.

I wouldn't invest in any display without adaptive sync technology at this point.