By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Retro talk: SW: Shadows of the Empire

SW: Shadows of the Empire (N64): Overrated? Underrated?

Overrated 0 0%

Underrated 4 50.00%

Justly Rated 3 37.50%

Never played it 1 12.50%

Total:8

From what I remember, I really liked the game. I say it's worthy of a HD remake.

Around the Network

Fun to read your memories of it.

I was ready to love it when I first played. Pretty sure I rented it around launch. I judged it not on its Star Wars story, which I later read the book and absolutely loved, but on its controls. The graphics were great! I was so excited when I started playing. But immediately I felt like I super sucked at it. Granted, I’m not the competitive type of gamer, I play for fun, but this one kicked my ass in the first level. I decided it wasn’t my poor skills but the terrible aiming, walking, and health system.

It’s one of those games that I really wished I was good at. I wanted to experience all of the levels without using cheat codes to get there (which there were I believe). I just couldn’t bear the pain of sucking that bad. After I read the novel in 2000, I went looking for it but didn’t find it. Finally came across an emulator on my jacked original Xbox and decided it had aged too poorly to give a second chance. This would be a game I’d sit three and was someone else play, like at a friend’s.

I wish Nintendo would fund great concepts like this on switch now. N64 was a pain to make games for from what I heard.

snyps said:
Fun to read your memories of it.