By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - So, I was completely wrong about 4K

There are still a lot of scepticism and misconceptions around it. 4K isn't a fad like 3D. It's the inevitable, next step forward in the progression of video quality.

Around the Network

I'm kind of on the other end on this.  Have 2 4k sets in the house, a high end gamimg rig, and a PS4 (Not a Pro).  Yeah 4k looks better, it should.   But i dont think it's all that much better, IMO.

Azuren said:
Biggerboat1 said:

Have a look at this chart : https://goo.gl/images/1Yr5cS

To have any noticeable benefit from a 55" you need to be sitting within 2m of the set, closer to 1m to see real, worthwhile gains... 

For most people that's way too close. That's why I mentioned only 65+ sets starting to make sense for 4k.

I'm a graphic designer so I'm sure I'd know by now if my eyesight was on the fritz! 

The original poster has a 49" so to see the dramatic gains he claims, he must be sitting with the thing in his lap... 

I don't have an agenda, I just see a technology being pushed on to the mainstream which is really only meaningfully beneficial to a tiny percentage of the market... 

Emperor's new clothes mk2

First of all, that chart is from a site that believes Image Retention isn't a super-important stat for a screen while gaming or using as a computer monitor. They give great objective information on TVs, but they tend to be full of shit when it comes to more subjective information (which in this instance would be anything that can't be measured).

Second of all, yeah, a 55" isn't for ten feet away. Like I just said. That's why the industry standard isn't 55" now, it's 65". 55" is still popular, though, because many people live in apartments where the sitting area is 6-8ft away from the TV. Not everyone lives in a house with a living that gives them a 10ft distance from the couch.