By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - New Computer

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a new computer, a custom HP dv9700 laptop that is decked out. I like it alot. The only beef I have with it is that I can't use the iPhone SDK with it (as it is not a Mac). I didn't even know the SDK was Apple only when I ordered this computer. I've had it for about just over a week and its within the return period. I'm a web application developer (ASP.Net) so I'm used to the Windows environment, but I just bought an ipod touch (thinking about getting a 3g iphone when they come out) and I really want to try to write some programs for it. I've already paid off the HP Account, and I no longer have the box, but I have everything that would need to go back.

First:

Do you think I could get my money back without the box?

If so what about the fact that the computer was bought with credit that has since been paid off.

I custom ordered the computer, I am not sure they even take custom returns.

Second:

If I can get all of my money back then a comparable mac would cost me another almost grand still. Is it worth it?

OR

Should I get a mac mini just for that stuff, ($599) <- IRS stimulus check?

PS. The tech support lady got things working again but the power supply flaked out on me yesterday (it was plugged in, wasn't charging, battery died)

Around the Network

If you end up keeping the laptop you could always look into dual booting your Windows OS with OS X v10.4.10.

Here's a link with more information: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Installation_Guides

Thanks Legend, but you must have 10.5.2 to run the SDK :(

I've tried to install it but I haven't had any luck.

theshoe23 said:

I'm a web application developer (ASP.Net) so I'm used to the Windows environment, but I just bought an ipod touch (thinking about getting a 3g iphone when they come out) and I really want to try to write some programs for it