By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Website Topics - Vgcharts Data

I have some background in statistical information, and I am constantly impressed with the close accuracy of data on this website to highly specialized tracking agencies in the UK, Australia, USA, Canada, Japan, etc.  I don't know what kind of coverage ioi has of the retail chain, but I'm begginning to think that if he had about as much as some of the other agencies, his data would actually be more accurate than the sell-through data they have. 

Think of it this way - if NPD covers 60% of the US sales data, and and extrapolates for the rest of it, in addition to doing Canadian numbers. ioi's numbers were mostly within 15% of the US & Canada, with (taking a stab at it) 30x less (perhaps even less coverage) of sales information.  Granted, sales patterns are fairly uniform across the world at the moment, but the level of accuracy is not be underestimated.  My theory is that in recent weeks ioi has crossed the threshold needed to refine American weekly data accuracy, and that from here on out, we can expect continual refinements in data accuracy as coverage increases.  I think if even 5% of USA data was covered, the data would be 95%+ accurate. 

People are difficult to govern because they have too much knowledge.

When there are more laws, there are more criminals.

- Lao Tzu

Around the Network