By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Walmart To Close Over 200 Stores, Lay Off About 10,000 U.S. Workers

It always sucks when people lose their jobs.

There is a particular case in PR. Walmart is not going to close their stores over here, but they'll close like 5-6 supermarkets of a local chain they've bought several years ago. It feels like this: they buy a local company, they "Walmart-ize" it and they shut it down.

Around the Network
spurgeonryan said:
chapset said:
Most walmart employees are on food stamp anyway and they get more out of it then their slave wages at walmart. I hope the smart one use the experience they got at walmart to get a better paying job so they can get out of food stamp. Trump 2016 for a better Canada

I am a hourly manager at walmart and on food stamps.

That's bullshit, but for some reasons americans are ok with that.

Bet reminder: I bet with Tboned51 that Splatoon won't reach the 1 million shipped mark by the end of 2015. I win if he loses and I lose if I lost.

Wal Mart can do better with online sales.

I hate going to the stores but I shop from Wal Mart online all the time.

I always thought Walmart was a terible store, so I'm not too surprised about this.

A real shame about the employees losing their jobs tho. :/

"Just for comparison Uncharted 4 was 20x bigger than Splatoon 2. This shows the huge difference between Sony's first-party games and Nintendo's first-party games."

hershel_layton said:
This is what happens when you want 15 bucks for a simple job.

This is also what happens when Walmart's owners are nothing but selfish assholes.

The owners deserve the profit loss. I despise Walmart, and never go there. My father hates it more, as he is a business owner, and hates big companies such as Walmart that mistreat their clients.

The workers don't deserve this though. Already hard enough dealing with the idiots who shop there