By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Politics Discussion - United States of America + Canada?

Should the two countries become one?

Yes - Canada should join the United States 52 17.39%

Yes - through an EU-styled agreement 42 14.05%

Yes - through some other means 3 1.00%

No - though I support fur... 109 36.45%

No - the two countries ar... 68 22.74%

Other/Not Sure 17 5.69%

Total:291
bucky1965 said:
-CraZed- said:
damoxuk said:
Lots of similarities but also totally different health systems. Canada is more akin to our NHS in that's it's free to all people taxpayers rather than the rich favouring US system.

Tell that to all the Candaians we get here in WA state crossing the border to get treatment for things that either have them waiting months to years or for procedures not available there. I know I am a nurse and we get them all the time here.

And now that we have a nationalized health care law (ACA) instead of just higher taxes those of us who pay our way through life get to experience higher premiums, copays and deductibles which equals  less money in our pockets for our own families well being.

And the rich don't need ANY system including Canada's since they have the money to travel to places where they can get the procedures etc. not paid for under a single payer system. The only thing accomplished by "free" health care is locking in those who have just enough to pay for it (through taxation or higher premiums) but not enough to flee said system or the power to resist it and instilling that sense of entitlement in those who don't pay anything for it.

Free doesn't = good or better.

It's not free here either. Our tax dollars pay for it. Nothings free with capitalism.

You are absolutely right it isn't free for those who actually pay taxes. But for those who don't they will tell you all day it is free. Can't tell you how many times I have heard from Canadians how muh better their "free" health care is.