By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Why are the shooting game engines the only ones being licensed?

When it comes to game engines, the only ones that come to mind are from shooter games. Lithtech, Unreal 3, Doom engine, Cryengine2, Source...the list goes on and on. Why are they the only ones being licensed? How come Sega never licensed the engine that made Shenmue (at the time Shenmue came out, there was no better looking game on PC or console) or Mario licensed the Mario 64 engine back on the n64 days(it was the first and best looking game for that system).

I am not a programmer and I don't know how and why a gaming company chooses an engine to go with. I'm guessing it has to do with Dev tools that are developed at the same time the engine is made... But I was wondering if anyone has a clear explanation why only shooter games engines are available for licensing?

Around the Network

Probably because shooters are typically the ones that push the most graphical advancements...and RPG engines tend to be made specifically for that game, working with that game's mechanics. I imagine an engine used to power an FPS is more workable? I dunno.

The White engine or whatever runs FFXIII is supposed to get used for a few multiplatform games, right? 

LEFT4DEAD411.COM
Bet with disolitude: Left4Dead will have a higher Metacritic rating than Project Origin, 3 months after the second game's release.  (hasn't been 3 months but it looks like I won :-p )

"Why are they the only ones being licensed?"

Because they are the best engines? FPS normally push the envelope the most graphically.
Besides it came from the PC area and is pretty new for consoles.

because they can be used for any genre

PC gaming is better than console gaming. Always.     We are Anonymous, We are Legion    Kick-ass interview   Great Flash Series Here    Anime Ratings     Make and Play Please
Amazing discussion about being wrong